Georgia Driving Rules & Resources
In Georgia, every young new driver under 17 must take a 30-hour driver education course and six hours of drivers training (Joshua's Law) from a State of Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) licensed driving school. Otherwise, you need to complete a total of 40 hours of supervised driving with a Parent or Guardian. Six hours of those hours must be at night.
Phase 1: Getting Your Learner's Permit
Once you are 15 years old, you can apply online for a Learner's Permit.
You must present documentation showing your identity, residential address, and US citizenship or proof of lawful status in the United States. Your full Social Security Number must be provided on the required online License/ID/Permit Form. Please refer to Real ID Requirements for more information. If you are under the age of 18, you must provide proof of school enrollment. Please refer to the Required Documents Section for more information.
The Knowledge Exam consists of two tests - the Road Rules Test and the Road Signs Test. You must pass each test. A minimum score of 15 out of 20 correct answers, on each test, is required to pass.
After you obtain your permit, you can start the Behind-the-Wheel driving lessons. You can only drive a regular vehicle with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and sitting in the front passenger seat.
Phase 2: Getting Your Class D Provisional License
Once you are 16 years old, have held your Learner's Permit for at least one year (with no major violations that resulted in the suspension of your permit), and satisfied the Driver Education (Joshua's Law) requirements, you can apply online for a Provisional License.
A driving log is not required, but a Parent or Guardian must be present when applying for the license at DDS. The parent will be required to attest to the teen's completion of this training.
Road Skills Test
On the Road Skills Test, you will be expected to do all or part of a series of tests. For a sample list view Road Skills Test Overview. You must present your vehicle registration and valid insurance card. The tag (license plate) cannot be expired and your vehicle must pass a safety inspection. Schedule your road test appointment online now.
- May not drive between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m, no exceptions.
- During the first six months following issuance, only immediate family members can ride in the vehicle.
- During the second six months, following issuance, only one passenger under 21 years of age and who is not a member of the driver's immediate family can ride in the vehicle.
- After one year from the date of issuance, only three passengers under 21 years of age and who are not members of the driver's immediate family can ride in the vehicle.
Phase 3: Getting Your Class C Driver's License
At age 18, you can upgrade your license to a Class C (under 21) Driver's License. A Class D to C upgrade can be done using Online Services or by downloading the DDS 2 Go Mobile App.