Driver Ed FAQ
Teen Driver Ed
What do I need to know about Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP)?
What is ADAP?
ADAP is an acronym that stands for Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program.
Does my Teenager under 18 need ADAP before doing a DDS Road Test?
In Georgia, teens under 18, by law, must prove that they have completed ADAP to obtain their Class D driver's license.
What is Joshua's Law?
Senate Bill 226, known as Joshua's Law, passed in 2005 during the General Assembly, began on January 1st, 2007. All 16-year-olds applying for a Class D Driver's License MUST complete an approved driver education of 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which must be at night with a parent or guardian's sworn verification that these requirements have been met.
The Revised Joshua's Law at the Legislation of 2021 General Assembly and effective from JULY 1st, 2021, states That the Driver Education Training course (Joshua's Law) is now required for both 16 and 17 year-olds to obtain a Class D Provisional Driver's License.
In addition, students completing a 30-hour classroom or virtual driver education course and six (6) hours behind-the-wheel training at a certified Driver Training School are exempt from the supervised driving experience affidavit requirement when applying for their Class D driver's license (For Detail information on this Bill and Legislation visit www.legis.ga.gov.
What if my child is 17 years old do the rules apply?
Yes. Learn more.
Am I to get an insurance reduction when my child completes driver ed?
Only a Certificate of Completion from a state-certified licensed school providing 30 hours of classroom instruction and six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction would be eligible for a reduction in insurance premiums. Learn more.
Who conducts the six hours of night driving?
A parent or legal guardian.
What is your cancellation policy?
Students who withdraw from any of our courses within 24 hours from registration and before signing the student contract are entitled to a full refund, less a $50 administrative fee.
What is your refund policy?
Refund policy information is specified in the student contract which is to be completed prior to attending the class.
Students who withdraw from any of our courses within 24 hours from registration and prior to signing the student contract are entitled to a full refund less a $50 administrative fee.
Refund requests must be made in writing. The written request should be emailed to email@example.com
How may I get updates on driving laws in Georgia?
- Download DDS 2 GO mobile app.
- Register your username and password.
- You are good to go!
What is point reduction on a license?
According to Georgia Point System (GPS), points are added to your license upon conviction of certain violations. The GPS ranges from two to six points. Up to seven points can be reduced once every five years. Learn more.
- You must successfully complete a certified Defensive Driving/Driver Improvement course with a certificate of Completion issued by the Certified Clinic (School).
- Take the Original Certificate to DDS Customer Service Center and request for point reduction OR
- Mail the Original Certificate of completion to the Georgia Department of Driver Services (verify correct address from DDS website).
What is a Driver Improvement Program?
Driver Improvement Program is a 6-hour course designed and regulated by the Department of Driver Services (DDS) to teach drivers about safe driving attitudes and behaviors.
DUI/Risk Reduction Program Offender Information
What information do I need to know on DUI/Risk Reduction Program?
Georgia law requires anyone whose Georgia driver's license or driving priviliges have been suspended or revoked as a result of certain alcohol and drug violations, including Driving Under the Influence (DUI) and violating Georgia's Controlled Substances Act, to successfully complete a DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program from a certified program and show proof thereof as a condition of reinstatement. Individuals charged with or convicted of other offenses may also be required to complete a Risk Reduction Program at the discretion of the court or as a condition of probation.
Effective July 1, 2008, all first-time DUI offenders are required to obtain clinical evaluations, unless waived by the court. Depending on the results of the clinical evaluation, a student/offender may be required to complete a substance abuse treatment program. DUI offenders who get a second or subsequent DUI within a 10-year period are required, as a condition of license reinstatement (pursuant to O.C.G.A. §40-5-63), to get a clinical evaluation, and if indicated by the evaluation, complete a substance abuse treatment program.
To obtain reinstatement information contact the Department of Driver Services (DDS) at (678) 413-8400.